Student Employee of the Year

The National Student Employment Association (NSEA) coordinates the annual National Student Employee of the Year (SEOTY) program in collaboration with MASEA and our member institutions. The intent of this award is to recognize the outstanding contributions and achievements of students who work while pursuing higher education.

The process begins at the institutional level. Supervisors may nominate an outstanding employee for recognition as their institutions’ student employee of the year. Then, any institution who is a member of MASEA may submit their student employee of the year for State and Regional consideration. If the Regional winner is from an institution that is also an NSEA member, the student will be moved forward for National consideration, as well.

Eligible Students:

In order to be eligible for consideration, student employees must have worked a minimum of six months part-time or three months full-time during June 2019 to May 2020 (anticipated).

Nominees are not restricted to students employed through the Federal Work-Study program. All student employees at institutions with a least one member of MASEA are eligible, with the exception of Graduate and Teaching Assistants. Nominees must be an employee at an institution that is a member of NSEA, as well as MASEA, in order to be submitted to NSEA as the MASEA regional winner. 

Selection Criteria

Students will be evaluated on the eight National Association of Colleges and Employers (NACE) Core Competencies:

  • Critical Thinking/Problem Solving
  • Oral/Written Communications
  • Teamwork/Collaboration
  • Digital Technology
  • Leadership
  • Professionalism/Work Ethic
  • Career Management
  • Global/Intercultural Fluency


·         December 2, 2019 - Regional Coordinators distribute announcement and application materials to members in their region.

·         February 14, 2020 - SEOTY nominations are due to the campus Student Employment office.

·         March 2, 2020 - Notifications of campus winners are due to the Regional SEOTY Coordinator through online submission.

·         March 20, 2020 - Regional SEOTY Coordinators submit the regional winners to the NSEA VP of Administrative Services.

·         March 23 - March 27, 2020 - National Student Employee of the Year is selected and winner's school is notified by the NSEA President.

·         April 12 - April 18, 2020 - National Student Employment Week observed. National SEOTY winner announced and runner-up finalists notified. National SEOTY award is presented at winner's campus.


·         State winners will receive a certificate and check for $75.00

·         The MASEA regional winner will receive a plaque and a check for $150.00

·         The MASEA regional winner will be submitted for the NSEA Student Employee of the Year Program if the institution is also a member of NSEA.

  • If the regional winner is not an NSEA member, the runner up will be submitted for national consideration.


·         SEOTY Campus Selection Form Example - Template for campus selection. For consideration for state and regional award, must be submitted online HERE.

·         SEOTY Scoring Rubric Full list of criteria and scoring rubric

Submission Instructions

In order for your institution's student employee of the year to be considered for state, regional, and national Student Employee of the Year, you need to submit the Campus Selection Submission for your campus winner HERE. No additional materials or previous forms will be accepted. Please note: the information you provide may be shared with the public through press releases and other promotional opportunities.

For more information, please contact Tricia Stouder, MASEA Secretary,

Student Employee of the Year Implementation Tips

The nominating process is easy! To help you with the process we have some suggested steps listed below:

  • Send the SEOTY and SESOTY information, corresponding forms, and a memo explaining the award and nomination process to your supervisors of student employees on your campus for SEOTY nominations and your student employees for SESOTY. Establish a campus deadline date for submissions that allows your selection committee time to determine and submit your campus winners to MASEA.
  • Many institutions create an online "survey" or "form" to collect the same information asked on the campus nomination as part of their process. Or you can use our template – just be sure to submit your winner on the information on the specific MASEA Campus Selection Form.  
  • Collect all nominations by the deadline date and request a "call for readers" on your campus. Consider adding student voices to your selection committee. Readers will simply read and review all nominations. Be sure to determine a deadline for completion of all ratings to allow time to submit your campus winner to MASEA. See the above rubric and consider using with your campus readers.
  • Collect the rating forms and calculate all scores. Select your SEOTY and SESOTY!
  • Complete the SEOTY Campus Selection Form and submit to MASEA.
  • Celebrate your winners!

Previous Winners 

2019 MASEA/NSEA Student Employee of the Year
Julianne Evans, University of Dayton, Ohio

2019 MASEA State Winners:

Illinois - Hannah Colbrook, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Indiana - Jonah Gjertson, IUPUI
Iowa - Thomas Polzin, Iowa State University
Kansas - Po-Yu 'Tony' Lai, Kansas State University
Kentucky - Zach Tackett, University of Pikeville
Michigan - Tiaha Johnson, Michigan State University
Minnesota - Ruotong Wang, Macalester College
Missouri - Bailey Martin, Missouri State University
Nebraska - Cy Cannon, University of Nebraska Kearney
North Dakota - Amy Breigenzer, University of North Dakota
*+Ohio - Julianne Evans, University of Dayton
South Dakota - Michael Stydel, Dakota State University
West Virginia - Morgan Goff, West Virginia University
Wisconsin - Christopher Duncan, Marquette University

*Indicates Regional Winner

+Indicates National Winner


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software